Learning the secret of flight from a bird was a good deal like learning the secret of magic from a magician.
Orville Wright
Inspired by the birds we admire our group encourages teamwork to integrate different disciplines in individual research projects & have some fun!
Credit: Islay Pictures Photoblog

Lab outing to the iFly vertical wind tunnel in Union City
Credit: Andreas Haselsteiner and our amazingly fun flight instructor (big thumbs up!)
Lab celebration of Fourth of July with a potluck picnic and a soccer game at Crissy field near the Golden Gate Bridge.
Credit: Eirik Ravnan and a friendly stranger who took our photo.
Halloween dinner party at Stanford West with lots of scary food made out of ... pumpkin mostly :)
Credit: Suzanne van Winden and Rivers Ingersoll
Spaghetti Finite Element Analysis of our experimental setup designs (another excuse for some fun in the lab :)
Credit: David Lentink and Nnaluci (spaghettoni pugliesi)

Principal Investigator

David Lentink


Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

PhD cum laude, 2008, Experimental Zoology, Wageningen.
MS 2003, Aerospace Engineering, Delft.
BS 2003, Aerospace Engineering, Delft.
Email dlentink@stanford.edu


Group Support

Heather Noelle Robinson


Administrator

ME | Design

BFA 2007, New York University. 
Email hnrobinson@stanford.edu
Phone +1 650 721 9433
Office Peterson Engineering Laboratory
Building 550, Room 132

Group Members

Amanda Stowers


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

MS 2014, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University.
BS 2012, Mechanical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign.
Project Design of bird-inspired morphing winged robots.
Email astowers@stanford.edu 

Rivers Ingersoll


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

MS 2014, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University.
BS 2012, Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Tech.
Project Aerodynamic force measurement of freely hovering hummingbirds.
Email riversi@stanford.edu 

Marc Deetjen


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2014, Mechanical Science & Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Project 3D shape measurement using a high-speed camera-projector system.
Email mdeetjen@stanford.edu 

Diana Chin


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

MS 2016, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University.
BS 
2014, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University.
Project Quasi-steady model for bird flight.
Email ddchin@stanford.edu 

Laura Matloff


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

MS 2016, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University
BS 
2013, Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Project Design and manufacturing of bird-inspired morphing winged robots.
Email lmatloff@stanford.edu

Ben Hightower


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

MS 2016, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University
BS 
2014, Mechanical Engineering and Material Science and Engineering, UC Berkeley.
Project Analysis of aerodynamic force measurement system.
Email bhightow@stanford.edu 

Emily Tucci


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2015, Bioengineering, Syracuse University.
Project  Muscle Activation and 3D Modeling of Starlings In-Flight.
Email etucci@stanford.edu  

Eric Chang


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2015, Mechanical Engineering, Arizona State University.
Project Design and manufacturing of pigeon-inspired robots.
Email echang7@stanford.edu 

Will Roderick


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2015, Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University.
Project Bio-inspired UAV design for arboreal perching in collaboration with the BDML.
Email wrtr@stanford.edu

Latifah Hani Hamzah


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2012, Mechanical Engineering, MIT.
Email latifah@stanford.edu 

Annie Imbrie-Moore


Graduate Student

Mechanical Engineering

BS 2016, Engineering Sciences (bioengineering), Harvard University.
Project Analyzing feather structure and interaction.
Email aimbrie@stanford.edu 

Talia Weiss


Visiting Student

Biomedical Engineering

BS 2011, Bioengineering, Caltech.
Project Hydrodynamic force platform.
Email talcat@vt.edu 

Lukas Haizmann


Visiting Student

Biomimetics: Mobile Systems

BS 2014, Physics, University of Rostock.
Project Analysis and modeling of hummingbird wing kinematics.
Email lhaiz@stanford.edu 

Saige Manier


Undergraduate Research Student

Mechanical Engineering

Mentor Laura
Email saige@stanford.edu